1.0 Historical Background

1.1 With the growth of industrial activities in Durgapur, Government of West Bengal decided to provide an economic, adequate and efficient road transport service to the people of Durgapur industrial township complex. With the avowed objectives, the Government started a state transport service on 1st August 1963 with a fleet of 8 buses as a Departmental Undertaking under the direct control of its Home Department. Initially, transport services were operated only in the township covering a total route length of 65 kms. In 1964-65, the fleet strength increased to 25 with a total operating route length of 102 kms.

1.2 In 1965-66, long distance mofussil services were first introduced covering total route length of 428 kms. and the fleet strength increased to 62 buses. On 15th Aug.1967, the Departmental Undertaking was converted into "Durgapur State Transport Board (DSTB)". The Commissioner of Burdwan was made Ex.-officio Chairman of the Board.

1.3 In 1968-69, DSTB extended its activities through augmentation of fleet strength of 100 buses operating in 11 long distance routes and 8 township routes covering a total route length of 1200 kms and 176 kms respectively.

1.4 In 72-73, Durgapur-Siliguri bus service (550 kms,. one way) was introduced with 3 new town services and the total route length of long distance and town services went upto 1650 kms and 143 kms respectively.

1.5 In 1973, DSTB was ultimately converted into public sector undertaking under the name and style of " Durgapur State Transport Corporation" with effect from 7th December, 1973 vide Government of W.B. notification dated 4.12.73. At that time, the fleet strength of the Corporation was 120 with 874 employees on its roll. Subsequently, many new routes viz. Durgapur-Santaldihi, Durgapur-Tarakeswar, Durgapur-Puri, Durgapur-Gangajalghati, Durgapur-Jiaganj, Durgapur – Sonamukhi, Durgapur-Pandabeswar, Durgapur- Burdwan were also introduced.

2.0 SBSTC Today

2.1 The South Bengal State Transport Corporation (SBSTC) is the new name given to Durgapur State Transport Corporation w.e.f. 1988 with a view to extending its road transport facilities in the five districts of South Bengal viz. Burdwan, Bankura, Purulia, Midnapore and Hooghly.

2.2 SBSTC is under the direct control of the Transport Department,GoWB headed by our Hon'ble MIC Shri Suvendu Adhikari and the department's Principal Secretary is Shri Alapan Bandyopadhyay,IAS.

2.3 The management of SBSTC is vested with Board of Directors constituted by the Government of W.B. including representatives from Transport and Finance Departments, Government of West Bengal, I.G.P.(W), Durgapur, Additional District Magistrates, public representatives and the Managing Director of the Corporation. The constitution of the SBSTC Board is as follows.

1. Sri Tamonash Ghosh,MLA ,Chairman, SBSTC.
2. Sri Asit Majumdar,MLA,Vice-Chairman,SBSTC
3  Dr. Godala Kiran Kumar IAS, Managing Director, SBSTC
4. Sri Biswajit Dutta, WBCS (Exe), Deputy Secretary, Transport,Government of West Bengal, Writers Buildings, Kolkata-1.
5. I.G.P (West Zone), Durgapur 
6. Shri Anand Prakash , Director (R.T.) MORTH,Govt.of India.
7. CEO, ADDA, City Centre, Durgapur
8. ADM, Asansol
9. ADM, Burdwan
10. ADM, Bankura
11. ADM, Purulia
12. Sri Krishna Chandra Santra, MLA, Village & P.O Bulandi,Dist. Hooghly,Pin:712413.
13. Sri Rajib Lochan Saren, MLA, Vill:Basantapur,PS:Boro,Block-Manbazar-II,Dist.:Purulia
14. Smt Jyotsna Mandi,MLA, Vill.Lachhmangara,PO:Bankura,PS:Hirbandh,Dist:Bankura,Pin:722140
15. Sri Nikhileswar Banerjee,G.T. Road , Gopal Math,Durgapur-17,Dist.Burdwan 
16. Sk Sufian, PO & PS Nandigram, Purba Medinipur.
17. Representative of Finance Deptt., GoWB.

3.0 Organizational Set up

3.1 The Corporation follows a 3-tier system of management viz. Depot, Division and Corporate. The entire operational network of the Corporation is carried out from its two Divisional headquarters – one at Durgapur and other at Belghoria. At Corporate level, the Deputy Managing Director, Chief Accounts Officers and HODs of other discipline assist the Managing Director. At Divisional level, the office is headed by Divisional Managers of the respective Division who is assisted by Works Manager/Works In-charge on technical site, Traffic Manager for traffic and operation, Administrative & Personnel Officer and other officers for general administration, Dy. Chief Accounts Officer for accounts matter. The Divisional Managers are directly reporting to the Managing Director. At the depot level, the Depot Manager /Depot In-charge is assisted by senior foremen, foreman or assistant foreman (depending upon the size of the Depot) for repair and maintenance work, Assistant Manager - Administration and Account, for general administration, accounts and disciplinary matters, Assistant Traffic Manager/Traffic Superintendent in the matter of traffic and operation. The Depot Manager/Depot In-charge directly reports to Divisional Manager.

4.0 Traffic Operational Activities

4.1 Traffic operational activities of the Corporation which was initially confined to Durgapur and its nearby area, has been gradually extended to cover the districts of Burdwan, Bankura, Purulia, Midnapur, North-24 Paraganas, Howrah, Hooghly and Kolkata. Presently, SBSTC operates road transport services from its two Divisional Offices - one at Durgapur & other at Belghoria. It’s run throughout the length and breath of the entire State of West Bengal and covers almost all historical places and tourist points like Digha, Garbeta forest, Bishnupur, Mukutmonipur, Susunia Hill, Kangsabati project, Ajodhya hill, Santiniketan, Mushidabad Hazarduari (Nawab Palace), Tarapit temple, Massenger dam, Farakka barage, Gour, Nabadip & Mayapur, Siliguri & Darjeeling, Tarakeswar etc. etc. It has extended its service to link Bhutan with West Bengal and reached at the border of Assam. Almost all important tourist centres in North Bengal are connected to South Bengal area with S.B.S.T.C. services.

4.2 This Corporation has operations in the inter-State routes presently with Jharkhand State also. We have planned to contact some more areas in those States in the near future.

5.0 Growth of Fleet Strength

5.1 The Corporation has shown fast growth of fleet strength during nineties compared to last two decades. The growth rate was maximum in 92-97 (67%). Thus the growth of fleet strength had given a wider scope to connect remote and inaccessible areas to cities and other growth centres and covered operational areas in the district of North 24 Paraganas, Kolkata, Howrah and other districts in West Bengal.

5.2 The increase of fleet strength is depicted below:

Year Avg.
No. of Vehicles
Till 1977
1977-78 to 1981-82
1982-83 to 1986-87
1987-88 to 1991-92
1992-93 to 1996-97
1997-98 to 2001-02
2002-03 to 2007-08
2008-09 to 2012-13
2013-14 to 2015-16

6.0 Growth of Depots

6.1 Till 1977-78,SBSTC operated its bus services from Durgapur City Depot only. Subsequently,it commissioned as many as 14 depots till date.The following facts are self- explanatory.

No. of Depots